Death

“Remembering that I’ll be dead soon is the most important tool I’ve ever encountered to help me make the big choices in life.” – Steve Jobs

I used to be terrified of death. The mention of the word would send my mind into a spiral of what, how, when. I would even look the other way whenever I drove passed a cemetary. After losing my mother, I was forced to deal with it, but I still struggled with understanding it.

The passing of Steve Jobs last week affected me in ways that I would have never imagined. I remember being sad when I first heard of his illness years ago. A few years later, I also remember thinking that his wealth had kept him alive longer than most. I was a loyal consumer of the Apple Brand and respected his creativity and passion. But at the end of the day, I’d never met him and didn’t really know anything about him, besides his connection to Apple.

However, when I read on my Yahoo page that he had died, something changed. After confirming his death on TMZ.com (yes, I confirm EVERYTHING on TMZ), I wanted to know more about Steve Jobs, the man.  I read his Wikipedia page and was instantly inspired. Steve Jobs was a wealthy, powerful, creative genuis who couldn’t escape death. And during his time spent here, he was able to live to his full potential because he understood death.

“No one wants to die, even people who want to go to Heaven don’t want to die to get there. And yet, death is the destination we all share. No one has ever escaped it. And that is as it should be. Because death is very likely the single best invention of life. It’s life’s change agent; it clears out the old to make way for the new.” – Steve Jobs

So, at 35+, I’m now understanding death, which is removing the fear from it. For the last four days, I’ve been really clearing my head for something new. I have to stop focusing on what I don’t have and concentrate on what I’m capable of doing. And I have to start doing in order to stop the fear. Remembering that I will be dead soon has helped me to make the choice to live to my full potential every day that God has chosen me to live.  Thank you, Steve Jobs!

Leave a Reply

