Meditation

“Empty your mind, be formless, shapelss – like water. Now you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup, you put water into a bottle, it becomes the bottle, you put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.” – Bruce Lee

I tried meditation for the second time last week. The first time was in my 20’s and I hated it. I’ve always had a problem with quiet and being still. Whether it was the TV, radio, or me just talking, I’ve always needed noise in my space. During Girl’s Night Out last week, a few of my girlfriends suggested Ah Meditation. I was a bit skeptical at first, because I didn’t know where to begin and  instantly convinced myself that it wouldn’t work because I had already tried it once. I also tried potato salad as a kid and hated it.  I rediscovered it two years ago and it wasn’t that bad so I guess taste really change with age. So, I was open! Especially since there was a You Tube instructional video – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0PwVJOiRcI8&feature=grec_index.

Okay, can I say, I loved it! I’ve been doing it every day since last Monday. And I had a breakthrough the first day – I felt the blockage of my third eye and it freaked me out. But afterwards, my mindspace was empty… clear. I was ready to receive!

So now at 35+,  I enjoy being still. Maybe I should give yoga a second chance…

Leave a Reply

