Stuff

“You can never get enough of what you don’t need to make you happy” – Eric Hoffer

Hello, my name is Kim and I’m a stuff addict…

The majority of my worldly possessions carry a story. Whether it’s me discovering it in Thailand while trying to escape two guys I thought were trying to plant drugs on me to carry back to the US (Okay, maybe I shouldn’t have watched Brokedown Palace before my trip) or me catching an amazing 90% off sale, most of my stuff bears an interesting story.

My mantra in my 20’s was: I work to buy anything I want. And I wanted a lot.

After losing my job in 2009, I was forced to spend time with all of the things collected over the years. Since I was so used to the routine of working to buy more, I had never paused to come face to face with all of the stuff hidden behind the anecdotes. I had clothes with price tags still attached; electronic gadgets only used once; books never opened. Finally being at one with all my stuff, I began to reflect on its purpose and my addiction to it. I began to realize that I had come to define a piece of myself through my stuff and my ability to acquire it.

Yes, it’s hard to admit, but at 35+, I can now look around at all of the crap, I mean treasures acquired over the years and admit that the fascinating stories or the incredible deals fail to validate it today. It’s all just… stuff. I’ve taken back the value that I once gave my material possessions and have begun to invest it in myself.

Leave a Reply

