Lists

“And I had this big, long list of what I wanted in a guy, but I realized I didn’t stack up to the list myself.” – Star Jones

I’ve never been good at lists.  I usually start them and never come back to view or strikethrough. Grocery, Things to Do, Bucket. They’ve all been victim to my incompleteness. Only one list has survived from my 20’s: “The Perfect Guy” List. I created this list after breaking up with my college sweetheart to avoid future tears, pain, and disappointment that I now know to be growing experiences. But at the time of 24, I thought wisdom was avoiding the bad stuff and the list was a perfect alternative.

  • Passionate
  • Funny
  • Confident
  • Manly
  • Creative
  • Spiritual 
  • Childless
  • Worldly
  • Non-Military
  • African-American
  • Have Siblings
  • Sports Fan (of at least one sport)
  • Non-Vegetarian (hey, I’m from Texas)

… just some of the items on my infamous list.

Over the years, I thought I was doing myself a favor by editing. When I turned 35, I figured it was time to start folding the list – you know, turn some of the items into preferences instead of deal breakers. Now at a single 35+, I’ve decided that there’s no such thing as a “perfect” guy and I definitely wouldn’t measure up to anyone’s “Perfect Woman” List (ie. the blog, “Everything I Did Wrong in My 20’s…”).  I’ve realized that the military, race, and football have nothing to do with love. So, this year, I ripped the foolish list into little bitty pieces and gave up my finicky control on finding Mr. Right. Today, I’m completely open to love and happiness even if he doesn’t eat meat…

Leave a Reply

