Fear

“You block your dream when you allow your fear to grow bigger than your faith” – Mary Manin Morrissey

The dream was born in the fourth grade – I wrote my first play and created the vision of  “becoming a writer when I grow up.” I nurtured that dream until college and then an art history professor (she was so important that I can’t remember her name) told me I was a horrible writer. Throughout my 20’s, I denied myself of my passion because of the fear that I wasn’t good enough. I focused my energy on creating happiness through new dreams but they all transformed into nightmares. At 29, I finally rediscovered the mustard seed that belonged to the 9-year-old writer and decided to once again, plant it. It developed into my first novel; however, it grew among a field covered with overgrown weeds of doubt, criticism, and yes, more fear. Over the last few years, I’ve developed a green thumb nourishing the soil for a new batch of creative energy. At 35+, I’m now ready to make the committment to dream big, bold, and brave.

2 Comments »

  1. Someone once told me that opinions are like noses, everyone has one. One person’s opinion isn’t the absolute truth. It took me a while to learn this and I still get discouraged when I hear negative things about my dreams and efforts. I’m glad you are on the road to living out and in your dreams. Continue on despite what the “professionals” say they have been wrong throughout history in so many ways.

  2. Janice said

    I like this one Kim. I have been told I am afraid for alot of different reasons but in the past recent years I realize all those people are ignorant to my life and my circumstances and how they affect me. I sometimes get angry and sad asking why this and why that. Then I remember it’s just a circumstance , a situation and now present day I focus on balance. A healthy balance not doing too much of any one thing and I can tell you people’s opinions mean negative zero to me in most cases. I know me inside and out and I like how you say you are 35+ I think I will say I am 28+ I like that better

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

