Rhythm

It all started 5+ years ago… I turned that freakin’ knob! I knew the day would come and I even thought I was ready to embrace it with open arms (by that point in my life, I needed a hug), but the moment I realized what I had done, I felt… different.  I always promised myself I would never, ever do it and yet there I was sitting in traffic, craving a change, and turning the radio right dab in the middle of a cool, hip, rap song to a hot, nostalgic, soulful tune. That moment was definitely the first sign of 30.

How could I not have a desire to go back to the place I had known for so long? Why didn’t I enjoy singing with the masses anymore?  I knew the answer but I wasn’t sure that I was ready to become… different. The once hip beats and raunchy lyrics all seem to be one song that I just didn’t want to move to anymore.

Since that life-changing moment, I’ve struggled to not only learning a new dance, but becoming comfortable with the movement. Through each lesson, I have found myself reflecting and sometimes regretting (for a minute or two before realizing you can’t live life with regrets) my moves of my 20’s. During that era, I had so many great things to look forward to, high goals to reach, and dreams to conquer. I woke up to 20 with goals of a successful career; wishes of meeting the man I would spend the rest of my life with; and hopes of becoming a complete spiritual being. And after years of  dancing and tired feet, I’m still dreaming of a successful career; I’m still waiting for Mr. Right; and I’m still working on that spiritual woman at 35+.

Even though it took me ten years to turn the station, I have no regrets to the dances that I’ve danced, the songs that I’ve sung, or the music that I’ve played — I can now close my eyes and actually feel the rhythm instead of just hearing the music.  I can now look back and celebrate everything I did wrong in my 20’s and I’m learning to find the happiness within myself, missteps and all.

1 Comment »

  1. ladybison said

    “The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.” – Nelson Mandela

    I happy to see this wonderful, beautiful, inspiring, conscious and courageous action of yours taking place for all to see (and read)!!!

    The gauntlet has been thrown, let the conquering begin….

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

