Change

“The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.” – Alan Watts

Tomorrow I will say, “See you later…” to Jojo, my 17-year old Pekingese. For me, this represents so much more than losing a companion, a family member, a pet or whatever definition one may give it. It solidifies the change that God has been preparing for me during the last five years. In my 20′s, life was simple and I was constantly embracing change because it was “happy” change. I was living comfortably in a cozy apartment in an “ideal” location; I was working in the television industry (my childhood dream); I was traveling the world; and I had all of my family intact, including my mother and my three munchkins: Isis, Chompers, and Jojo.

It wasn’t until I lost my mother in 2007, and then Chompers a year later, and then Isis the year after, that I started to experience the “challenging” change that eventually revealed a soulful growth that allowed to me understand and embrace my purpose. Each loss came at a time in my life where I was planning something new, a “happy” change. And each time, instead of celebrating,  I allowed my mourning to overshadow the joy.

The year after I lost Isis, I was anticipating the loss of Jojo since August had revealed itself to be the “death” month in my life. Instead, I finally took the steps of living through my passion and 2010 became the best year in my life. That year taught me how to celebrate again. And Jojo continued to teach me in 2011 so many lessons from his determination, resilience and spunk in the midst of a challenging year for both of us.

I started this year off planning something new and exciting. According to Arnold Bennett, any change is always accompanied by drawbacks and discomfort. So now at 35+, I can now accept all facets of the change that has once again, been put in my path. I can now celebrate Jojo’s purpose in my life and move with the change to come. So, I say, ” Joes, your Clucks loves you so much and is grateful for the time we had together. I know you will embrace the change of being at peace and reuniting with your best buddy, Chompers. Thank you for your unconditional love, invaluable lessons, and dynamic life!”

1 Comment »

  1. Ohh, I’m so sorry to read about Jojo!!! (((((BIGHUG)))))

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

