Food

“We are indeed much more than what we eat, but what we eat can nevertheless help us to be much more than what we are.” -            Adelle Davis

During my freshman year of college, I ate a cheeseburger every day, sometimes twice a day. My first partaking  of lettuce was a Caesar salad four years ago at a wedding. Anyone who knows me, is aware of my long, extensive list (mostly filled with fruits and vegetables) of foods that I “don’t” eat. However, that list is slowly, maybe at a snail’s pace, starting to change.

In my older years (yes, 35+ is older), I am now noticing the different effects foods are having on my body. Whether it’s the lack of energy or just good old-fashioned pain, my body has had enough and is protesting my years of abusive behavior.  I’ve been moving towards healthier eating by growing a garden (watermelon from my garden pictured above) so I think it’s time for me to take a jump. FOOD REHAB!!!

For the month of October (my birth month), I am going to be conscious of everything I put in my mouth. Since the first week is usually the time for withdrawal, I am giving up burgers for a whole week (yes, I’m taking baby steps). Okay, make that two weeks!!

Yes!!! I’m ready for a new and improved 35+ body! Maybe, I can even lose a few pounds in the process. I’ll keep you posted…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

